The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » strolling or standing?? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MAGICTOM
View Profile
Veteran user
Dallas, Tx
354 Posts

Profile of MAGICTOM
I have been asked to perform some miracles at the local Fall Festival this weekend, and I am torn between strolling around or taking a close up table and my case and staying in a fixed location.. the table adds quite a bit of opportunities for me to perform a wider variety of effects, but people will have to come to me.. I also have 5 standard sets of tricks routined together, each consisting of 3 seperate effects.. probably about 10-15 minutes each set...is this long enough to put on a show and ask for donations (this is a fund-raiser non-profit for me) at each sets end? or should I combine more and make (2)-30 minute sets?
I am new to the art of the "sidewalk shuffle"
and would appreciate any advice..
Tom Smile
No Man is his craft's master the first day!
J.B. Bobo
Philemon Vanderbeck
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
4696 Posts

Profile of Philemon Vanderbeck
The 10-15 minute sets are better, as people probably won't want to stand in one place for much longer than that.

If you have time, I would recommend picking up a copy of Cellini's "Street Magic" video/DVD, as it has many useful pointers on the art of street performing.
Professor Philemon Vanderbeck
That Creepy Magician
"I use my sixth sense to create the illusion of possessing the other five."
BroDavid
View Profile
Inner circle
America’s North Coast, Ohio
3176 Posts

Profile of BroDavid
I agree with Philemon as you will want to turn as many hats as possible to maximize your time.