The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » How long of a routine? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicguy
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of magicguy
I am pretty new at magic, but it doesn't mean I don't try hard, and pick my tricks carefully. I got an invitation to do magic at one of the Planet Hollywoods.... How long are your routines? 5 mins? 10 mins?

So far my tricks for sure are:

Scotch and soda

Raven

Card warp

color changing sponge balls to jumbo sqaure

Pen through dollar bill

would that be enough or should I add more?

Smile
Paul
View Profile
Inner circle
A good lecturer at your service!
4394 Posts

Profile of Paul
Have you read any books on performing restaurant magic?

Have you discussed fees with the restaurant?

You don't quite sound ready. You certainly have enough magic for one table...

maybe more than enough.

I assume it is just a one off booking?

Good luck.

Paul
Steve Landavazo
View Profile
Special user
Northern California
654 Posts

Profile of Steve Landavazo
Hi Magic Guy!

I think that just being invited to do magic is itself an accomplishment!

Congratulations!

It sure sounds like you picked out some great tricks, and this will be a great learning experience for you. As far as how long should you perform each routine? I think using your judgement knowing that your performance is reliant on a few outside factors such as the arrival of the food and friends interacting etc. Seems that short is best to at least gauge your response, and then tailor what you've learned at your next performance.