The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Looking for advice from an Alto Sax player... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Magix
View Profile
Elite user
432 Posts

Profile of Magix
I'm a guitarist for about four years and I've always been interested in the sax. I picked up a used Vito and the guy at the store set me up with a Yamaha 4c mouthpiece, and Van Doren 2.0 reeds. I can't find a brand name on the ligature. So, here's my question - is this a good beginner setup? I've been reading about mouthpiece setups, and while I certainly don't think it's time to try an expensive mouthpiece, I'm wondering if I should try Rico Royal reeds. I've read they are easier for beginners.

Any thoughts?
Jaxon
View Profile
Inner circle
Kalamazoo, Mi.
2537 Posts

Profile of Jaxon
I know it's strange to get a response from "The deaf guy" Smile but I use to be a pretty good sax player before I lost my hearing. I'm not familiar with modern brands though. If you're just learning then I don't think an expensive mouth piece is something you have to worry about yet.

Maybe you can ask them at the music shop. I know that sometimes the shop employees have the attitude like hobby shop workers have though. They often get big headed and only feel the pros are worth talking to. You might get lucky though and find a helpful person there.

Ron Jaxon

After regaining my ability to hear after 20 years of deafness. I learned that there is magic all around you. The simplest sounds that amazed me you probably ignore. Look and listen around you right now. You'll find something you didn't notice before.
Magix
View Profile
Elite user
432 Posts

Profile of Magix
Thanks Ron. I'll probably try that. We have some good music shops here with lots of helpful guys. I figured I'd ask here anyway, just to broaden the knowledge base.