We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Dvd, Video tape, Audio tape & Compact discs. » » Review of the DVD "Art Of Costume Change" By Yuji Yasuda (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

diamond
View Profile
Regular user
Serbia & Montenegro
200 Posts

Profile of diamond
I was very curious when I first saw an ad for Mr. Yasuda's DVD, and I ordered it immediately. This is something that is my line of work as I am a quick change artist myself. I have learnt the Art of quick change and transformation from well known quick change artists from Russia and I was trained under their supervision. I'm always happy to learn new things in this delicate Art.

Although the postman who delivered the DVD woke me up after only 1 hour of sleep (I came home that morning from a gig in remote part of my country, so I travelled all night), I immediately made myself a cup of coffee and played it.

The Art of quick change is actually a very wide area of magic (or very broad as an Art of its own), and not too much has been published on this issue. Therefore and also due to the fact that costumes are a very specific thing to work with (they can not be standardized in any way because of the different body anatomy of different performers, different fashion styles, different requirements of the acts of various performers, etc.). That's why every performer that works with costume changes has to add some of his/hers own creativity to the more or less standard methods and that's why this Art is so broad.

Yuji Yasuda has added a lot of his own creativity to the costume change sequence that he has created. As he stated in the interview after the explanations section, he has seen a lot of quick change artists and without knowing their secrets and also not wanting to copy their methods, he created his own way of accomplishing it.