The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » Guarding Secrets With a Jealous Zeal (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5~6~7~8~9 [Next]
daffydoug
View Profile
Eternal Order
Look mom! I've got
14077 Posts

Profile of daffydoug
Many, many years ago, if I may share an anecdote, I worked as an assistant baker at a small bakery in Culver Indiana. The head baker there, a certain Mr. Ellis Licht, had only a year or so until his retirement, having worked there most of his career.

Anyway, I have vivid memories of this big man (years of eating your own pies, cakes, doughnuts, sweet-rolls, breads, cookies, etc., etc.)and his eccentric ways.

The most vivid memory I have of him is this. When there was a item that needed to be baked, he did not rely on memory, but had written all his recipes in a little book, that we could call his "recipe Book" (Ahem.....clears throat)

I never saw this book. But I knew it was there.

You see he kept it in a drawer, and no one was allowed in that drawer except Mr. Licht. When he needed to recall the ingredients called for, he would open the drawer a crack, peek down in it, flip through the book, read aloud the called for ingredient that he wished for us to fetch, and then he would close the drawer. We only knew bits and pieces because of this technique. And if we dared peek in the drawer, his wrath would have surely consumed us! He was jealous and secretive of those hard earned recipes and remained that way until he retired.

Years later I worked for Mcormicks food service making condiments for McDonalds. We made ketchup, relish, tarter sauce, Big Mac sauce, and all the others. We made it but we didn't know the formulas....we were only allowed to know a small portion of each recipe. Everyone knew their part, and in the end it ended up making a unified whole. I remember that well.