The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Just need a tad bit of guidence (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Twitch
View Profile
New user
Buckley, WA
80 Posts

Profile of Twitch
Hi,

I'm planning for a talent show in April at my school and I really want to throw doves into my act and I'm starting from scratch. I'm new to dove work but I'm no stranger to doves themselves. I helped my buddy take care of his for years but never had the desire to learn untill now. Now he's moved away and I kind of want a fresh perspective on it. Any help would be good I'd Like to do body loads but I know that is more advanced, and I was also looking at the torch thru arm to dove effect but haven't heard anything about it. Any advice would be so greatly appreciatd.

thanks,
Josh
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4855 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
Josh, check out the many topics here on the Café about this. The first thing you want to do is get some reference books or vids. Helping someone raise doves and actually raising and working with them yourself are two different things.

I'd recommend Tony Clark unmasked, Andy Amyx dove 101, Encyclopedia of dove magic, Gen Grant's how to make a living stealing...doves, just to name a few.

Body loads aren't that difficult but starting out with props is a good idea. Get the dove or doves as soon as you've done the research and spend as much time with them as you can between now and April.
Where the magic begins
tjkmagicman
View Profile
New user
33 Posts

Profile of tjkmagicman
Definitely start out with doves and props because it takes a good bit of practice to do body loads well because dove work is not easy. Hope this helps good luck

Take care,

Tim Kutch
David Bilan
View Profile
Special user
Clarksville, TN
714 Posts

Profile of David Bilan
Dave,