We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » Maher Course (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

sfx
View Profile
New user
South Africa
12 Posts

Profile of sfx
I have just purchased the Maher course and vinyl vern. I now eagerly await their arrival. Does any one have any suggestions or pearls of wisdom to share with me regarding vent? I am an absolute beginner in this area and feel I may have jumped in at the deep end?
cardone
View Profile
Special user
851 Posts

Profile of cardone
Practice every day..... wait.... I mean practice all day........ The rewards are great ! Any questions e mail me .
olivertwist
View Profile
Special user
Nashua, NH
578 Posts

Profile of olivertwist
Some people (like me) learn better by seeing and hearing. I did the Maher course and I recommend it. It is very thorough. But I really learned the verbal techniques from Steve Taylor's "Voicing Your Dummy" and Pete Michaels' 'Video Ventriloquism'. Whatever resources you use practice every day. Practicing while you drive is a good way to use time that is otherwise wasted. Taylor says if you use pracitce his lessons every day for 15 minutes, in 6 months you'll be able to do it and perform. This worked for me. I tried adding ventriloquism to my magic act after 6 months of practice and it went over well. (I also started with Vern. Everyone loves Vern!) It still took time for me to get comfortable doing vent in front of an audience, but the more you do it the better you get. It has been a huge addition to my act. It's a lot of fun and the audiences really enjoy it. You won't be sorry for spending the time learning.

Oliver
KyletheGreat
View Profile
Special user
Georgia
560 Posts

Profile of KyletheGreat