The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » I've got a secret - sssssshhhh (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
PennyMagic4U
View Profile
New user
78 Posts

Profile of PennyMagic4U
OK - So I am new to this forum, but I have been doing magic for 15 years - not a professional, but - here is my question - why is it that so many magicians think they are the only ones who know how a trick is done and they wouldn't teach someone else if their lives depended on it? Give me a break - how did they learn? Just thought this would get a few good answers.
JCPENNY
Simply Magic
PennyMagic4U by Jerry Penny
Frank Tougas
View Profile
Inner circle
Minneapolis, MN
1712 Posts

Profile of Frank Tougas
People are people. Some want to keep things to themselves simply so they can act one up on you. Magic gives them a unique excuse to make that behavior okay. I have always found that if you show a genuine interest in the art, decent magicians are happy to help you out.

Frank Tougas
Frank Tougas The Twin Cities Most "Kid Experienced" Children's Performer :"Creating Positive Memories...One Smile at a Time"
español jeff
View Profile
New user
81 Posts

Profile of español jeff
I'm not sure there are so many magicians who want to keep their material/secrets to themselves. I've met a lot of people who are very generous with their knowledge if, as Frank has said, you have a genuine interest. In fact, some of the best around are also the most generous.
I suspect that part of the issue with those who are more guarded is an underlying belief of ownership and insecurity. And that If they give away their secrets then they won't be so unique.
pkg
View Profile
Inner circle
The City of Ithobaal I son of Hiram I
1356 Posts

Profile of pkg
Ask your grandma if she would give you the recipe to her gravy...