The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Up in smoke! » » Learning fire magic safely (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MOTO42
View Profile
Loyal user
Whitehouse Texas
225 Posts

Profile of MOTO42
It's before noon, so this may not be coherent, thou hath been warned.

What's a good book on the subject of fire magic? One that has a good focus on safety. Preferably not too expensive, I'm a college student after all.

When one is learning these tricks and illusions that use fire, what safety measures do you recommend?

What kind of training is required to obtain a license for and the knowledge to properly use professional pyrotechnics. (I expect such a goal is a long way off yet, but since I'm at the college all the time anyway...)
"One man's miracle is another man's warm-up"
cheaptrick
View Profile
Loyal user
Wilmington, Delaware
251 Posts

Profile of cheaptrick
That depends on the laws of the jurisdiction where you are performing.

SOME EVEN consider flash paper and flash cotton to be "class-something-or-other"
explosives, and possesion of same my even prompt the local idiots to call the FBI or BATF. Er... "bomb making material, you know".

I had a humorous experience a while back.

I gave a little show at a state mental hospital for an event for the patients and staff.

I used my flint flasher with some FC and sparkle addative.

When I was done, one old biddie, I guess thinking I was one of the patients, came over and gave me the third degree about the thing.

I thought she was gonna call the feds or something.
"Pick any card. NOT that one!!!"
BroDavid
View Profile
Inner circle
America’s North Coast, Ohio
3176 Posts

Profile of BroDavid
My first recommendation is that you find someone locally who has experience and can teach you.