The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Any ideas?? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mjackagic
View Profile
New user
Sheffield
12 Posts

Profile of mjackagic
I'm very new to magic and was wondering if anyone could help me??

A friend of mine is a magician. Every time I see him he amazes me with his tricks (or should I say 'effects!). He works mainly with cards and his repertoire is endless although I'm sure I've seen nothing yet. Anyway, next time he gets his deck out, I'd like to blow him out of the water with a few effects of my own but don't know where to start.

I suppose 'blow him out of the water' is a bit ambitious, but to be able to do something to impress him would be great.

Any ideas guys?
Reis O'Brien
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
2467 Posts

Profile of Reis O'Brien
There's not really anything that it going to blow him out of the water that you'll be able to learn by the next time you see him... unless you guys only see eachother every five months. I'm afraid that anything gimmicked, he will know, so you're better off trying to impress him with some moves or just a very clever trick.

My suggestion is to get hold of a copy of Royal Road to Card Magic, or The Encyclopedia of Card Tricks, or maybe Tarbell Vol. 1. And familiarize yourself with the moves and basic handlings taught in each of these books. Then start sifting through all the effects and find one or three that you really like the sound of and then practice those effects until your fingers bleed... okay, no bleeding needed!

Anyway, my point is that your friend will appreciated the amount of work you have put into learning a small routine. It will show respect to the art of magic and that could very well open many doors for you should you choose to study a little deeper.

Hope this helps,
-Reis
Homo vult decipi; decipiatur

http://www.myspace.com/liar_4_hire
Roger Kelly
View Profile
Inner circle