The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Earning Some Cash (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
magicguy
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of magicguy
Hi! I’m pretty new to magic, and in a situation where it would be nice to make an extra hundred here and there.

Is there a good source for me to learn magic routines right away? Like from videos or books?
Kenz Krazy
View Profile
New user
Kent in the U.K
74 Posts

Profile of Kenz Krazy
Finding a local magic club is a good place to start. Smile
Scott F. Guinn
View Profile
Inner circle
"Great Scott!" aka "Palms of Putty" & "Poof Daddy G"
6581 Posts

Profile of Scott F. Guinn
These are the kinds of posts where I offend some people and make them think I am a snob or an elitist, but I think this is very important.

If you are new to magic, you have no business whatsoever learning a routine right away and then going out and charging a couple hundred bucks to perform it. I don't know why, but somewhere along the way, people got the idea that it is easy to be a paid professional magician.

IT MOST DEFINITELY IS NOT!

You simply MUST pay your dues! Musicians, tradesmen, etc, don't expect to go out and earn a living after reading one article on their chosen profession, but people seem to think that is perfectly legitimate with magic.

You need to learn how to routine and construct a show, how to present the magic in an entertaining way, how to dress, speak and act effectively, how to be likeable and entertaining, what to do if a trick goes sideways on you, how to handle an audience, misdirection, where your act will be booked, for what audiences and what venues you will perform and how to go about getting them, etc, etc, etc.

What you don't seem to understand yet is that the actual TRICKS are the LEAST important part of a successful magic act.