The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Patter (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bardin
View Profile
New user
Jenison, Michigan
46 Posts

Profile of Bardin
My question might get answer based on individual taste, but what do you find is the best way to delevope a good patter?

In other words do you just come with what to say for an effect in your head or do you sit down and outline it out on paper like you might for speech or business presentation?

I know some people might even admit that they borrowed anohter performers to a certain extent, but there are a lot of indivdual created routines out there.
Bardin
Steve Haffner
View Profile
Regular user
Kentucky
108 Posts

Profile of Steve Haffner
I'm not a professional, but here is what I've learned about patter and presentation in my time as a hobbyist.

What I usually do is learn a trick with the suggested patter, if there is some. Once I have the mechanics down, I get exisistential on it. I look at the effect to see what at its core it is presenting. Is it making something disappear? Transform? What? and Why?

Then I look at the components - such as silks, rope, cards, etc., and see if it
makes sense for me to want to change or vanish them as they are, or would it make more sense if I presented them as something else. Sometimes I see some potential in the tirck where maybe if the component was a little different it would make more sense and I could present it as a story about....