The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Microphones (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

benlewis2004
View Profile
Regular user
150 Posts

Profile of benlewis2004
Ok,

I have no audio equipment experience so I'll need serious help.

Don't ask why, but I used to play the electric guitar and would like to use the amp for a wirelss microphone system.

Im sure you know what inputs are accepted into these amps. but could you tell me EXACTLY what I need to do this including transmitters, receivers, microphones, everything.

I appreciate any help.
Regan
View Profile
Inner circle
U.S.A.
5696 Posts

Profile of Regan
Ben,

I think we really need to know exactly what type of amp you have before I make an. What type of inputs does your amp have. I'm sure it has a 1/4" phone jack for instrument(s), but does it have a XLR mic input also. Does it have tube or solid state circuitry? If it a tube amp I would not recommend that you use it with a microphone.

Regan
Mister Mystery
benlewis2004
View Profile
Regular user
150 Posts

Profile of benlewis2004
It's in the loft at the moment but from what I can remember it said microphone above on input (I think) but it looked the same as the other input.
muzicman
View Profile
Special user
LaCenter, Wa
989 Posts

Profile of muzicman
Regan, I'm ALMOST positive it's not a 1/4" phone jack, but then again I could be wrong LOL.

Using a guitar amp for a PA is done all the time. Most quality MIC's have the 1/4" equipment plug which is just like your guitar cord. If your MIC is XLR, you can purchase an XLR to 1/4" plug cable. Higher end MIC's have XLR connectors and you just need to buy the right cable (either XLR or 1/4" depending on your amp input).