We Remember The Magic Caf We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » Glenn Bishop's 11 min. Close Up Act » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4~5~6~7 [Next]
bishthemagish
View Profile
Inner circle
6013 Posts

Profile of bishthemagish
I posted my 11 minute act at my web site and because of magicians that have PM’ed me and e-mailed me I feel that I should say this. I think that there are some magicians in magic that MISS the point.

First of all this act is the basic act that I do for money. I will get into it more as I write. But the point of me putting video of this up at my web site was not to get e-mail and PM's from magicians that want to talk about the methods. This is an act I have been doing for around 30 years and I am very happy with my methods because for me they work.

The loads are not seen by the audience or picked up by the camera and if fact the audience doesn't even know that the loads are coming. The effects fool them and the audience is pleased with the entertainment. The point is that the audience does not care about the methods and is only interested in the entertainment.

I find it odd that magicians over think and over analyze and are over critical of other magicians work. They don't see the forest for the trees. In other words the magicians seem to be wrapped up in questioning my methods rather than enjoying the entertainment and learning from the video.

In the Bruce Lee movie "Enter the dragon" Bruce Lee said. "It is like a finger pointing toward the moon, don't concentrate on the finger or you will miss all that heavenly glory".

Or in magic don't concentrate on the methods or you will miss the enjoyment of the effects that they had on the audience and the real lesson and why I put the video up at my web site in the first place.

That is the other reason I posted this video. It is to show a close up act STRUCTURE.