We Remember The Magic Caf We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » "I just wanted it to rhyme, man..." (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
mplegare
View Profile
Veteran user
Forest Grove, Oregon
310 Posts

Profile of mplegare
I've been doing this magician thing for cash for about five years now. I've read a lot of books, magazine articles, lecture notes, and Magic Café posts.

Sometimes I wonder if maybe we're working too hard to achieve that Profound Magic Moment - to blow away our audiences, inspire, bewilder, boggle, or create that "Moment of Wonder" that seems to be the result of whatever hot new trick or book (or sleight or prop or...) that comes down the pike.

Is there really any shame in just wanting to be entertaining? I'm not belittling the pursuit of the Profound, but sometimes... "I just wanted it to rhyme, man..."

Tobias!
(bonus points for those who can identify the quote)
Matthew Legare aka Tobias the Adequate! - http://www.adequateblog.today.com - you know you want to.
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
Sounds like something Bob Dylan might have said, although I wouldn't know exactly where or when.

So, what do I win?
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
mplegare
View Profile
Veteran user
Forest Grove, Oregon
310 Posts

Profile of mplegare
Yep. Bob Dylan.

Um. I dunno what you win aside from admiration. I hadn't really thought this through...

Tobias!
(Better living through obscure references)
Matthew Legare aka Tobias the Adequate! - http://www.adequateblog.today.com - you know you want to.
The One
View Profile
Veteran user
325 Posts

Profile of The One
In my opinion... if you just wanna entertain, just tell jokes.
I didn't come here to tell you how this is going to end...
I came here...
To tell you how this is going to begin.