The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Just got Royal Road To Card Magic & Complete Course in Magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Stimpy
View Profile
New user
20 Posts

Profile of Stimpy
Hi there,

yesterday I received two books I have ordered: Royal Road To Card Magic & Complete Course in Magic. Right now I am starting to work with The Royal Road and glanced through Complete Course in Magic. Wow...These books really are worth their money.

I am a complete beginner and have never touched a deck of cards before, so even doing basic stuff like the Overhand Shuffle is a challenge for me. Smile So now I am just trying to get that right. (And ONLY that for now)

Thanks to all the people here who recommended these two books. There is so much material it will surely keep me busy for years. Espacially The Complete Course in Magic is much bigger than I expected and explains nearly everything from Card Magic to Coin Magic and other really good stuff. There are even tricks included that will cost you more than the book itself when you buy the single trick (Bill in a lemon).

Now it´s practice, practice, pactice...I really want to take the time to get the very basics down and build a solid foundation.

What I also found extremly helpfull together with Royal Road is the podcast from GoMagicGo (www.gomagicgo.com). They do a beginners course in Card Magic using the Royal Road. Each Episode offers material for one week (Week one covers the Overhand Shuffle, nothing else...no card controll yet...). They also point out the critical details you have to take care of and give hints on stuff that can easily be overseen when starting with Cards.

It´s so exciting I can hardly put the cards aside. Smile
Practice doesn´t make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect...
DomKabala
View Profile
Inner circle
I've grown old after diggin' holes for
2826 Posts

Profile of DomKabala
Quote: