The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How much difference do card types make? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Robmonster
View Profile
Elite user
455 Posts

Profile of Robmonster
Afternoon all,

I'm in the process of learning a few card tricks and sleights. I'm a complete beginner and so I'm practicing the overhand shuffle controls, along with trying to get breaks and double lifts.

I was wondering how much difference the packs of cards makes to my learning progress.

For example, the only cards I can get my hands on locally all seem to be highly waxed. I find them really slippery, to the point where trying to remove the top card only via overhand shuffle leads to the top few cards on the poacket sliding over and looking a bit dodgy.

Is this something you just have to get used to, or am I making things harder for myself by using these slippery cards?

Are Bicycle cards slippery/waxed like this?

RM
james-harrington
View Profile
Regular user
England
102 Posts

Profile of james-harrington
Yes they are when new.

Try using fanning powder on the cards. It will stop them being so 'slippery'. Quite strange that by being less slippery they become better to fan... Give it a go, I know some flourishes like the Cobra Cut etc are much easier to do with fanning powder applied to the cards because they stop sliding everywhere!

James
eddieloughran
View Profile
Special user
942 Posts

Profile of eddieloughran
Before getting fanning powder I would try a different deck of cards.
I started with a cheap deck from a local supermarket and the difference when I bought a bicycle deck was amazing.
JackScratch
View Profile
Inner circle
2151 Posts

Profile of JackScratch