The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Routining? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Magicjg
View Profile
Elite user
476 Posts

Profile of Magicjg
So I'm ready to begin performing. I have done magic for years now, acutally around 9 years. I'm not a beginner but I'm still having a problem. When you are trying to market a show, how do you make a show? That might sound silly, but I don't want it to seem like I just put together a bunch of tricks and that's it. I want it to flow. Any suggestions? I want to use a sub trunk at the end of my show, so I guess that is a start. I had an idea just to work out of that, use tricks that fit in there and to keep pulling articles out of the trunk to use for my show. What should I do to make things seem like they fit together rather than jumping from a card trick right into something so off the cuff that it doesn't make sense? Help!!!
JackScratch
View Profile
Inner circle
2151 Posts

Profile of JackScratch
OK, this is a realy involved question. I suspect you will not get the entire answer from this forum. A routine means that there is something connecting your effects. A reason you are doing what you are doing. What should it be? Anything. It can be subtle, it can be overt, it can be character, it can be story, it can even be a theme of style. The problem is, your question is very broad, and sadly, it has to be. There isn't one answer. There are billions. Writing is a tricky thing, and the only way that I know, to become good at it is practice. Use your imagination, just let it flow. Think of as many different ways to string your effects together as you can. Write them down. See which one sounds the best to you. All you are realy looking for is an excuse. Some rationalization for doing the things that you do. It can even be a bit contrived. All you need is to prevent your audience from ever asking "Why did he do those things?"