We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » My Intruduction (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jaypoc
View Profile
New user
59 Posts

Profile of Jaypoc
Hello all. I just want to introduce myself as I'm new to Magic Café (and fairly new to using the Internet as a tool to educate myself in the magical arts and to network with in the community).

I am 29 now, but I have been a magic enthusiast since I was very young (less than 10 years old). Among my first tricks, were the Magic Coloring Book, a Dove pan, and a reall cool mentalist trick that I can't recall the name of (though it used a gimmicked chalkboard with 3 covers and a Svengali deck to force one of the predictions.)

There was a magic shop fairly close to my home (I live on Long Island, NY) so now and then, my parents would take me there and buy me a trick, but those visits were very rare and I never had the opportunity to work with any well known, or skilled professional magicians.

My first (and unfortunately, my only) performance was in front of the congregation at my Temple. I even set the theme to my Bar Mitzvah as "Magic" and decorated with hats, wands and of course, bunnies. We even hired a magician to work the tables during the cocktail hour. Since then I have always maintained an interest, and occaisionally picked up a trick or two but it went somewhat on the backburner.

A few months ago I rekindled my interest in magic in general and decided that instead of picking up all gimmick-based tricks, I wanted to build some skills so that I could perform effects and illusions no matter where I was. Working on this, I decided to specialize in card magic. I've learned that the road to card magic is not simple, but certainly satisfying when you can pick up any deck of cards and amaze people.