The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Help choosing a new book (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

matinex
View Profile
Regular user
San Jose, CA
108 Posts

Profile of matinex
Hi all,

I prefer magic books featuring tricks that rely on subtleties more than on sleights. My favorites in my collection are Card Magic of Nick Trost, Effortless Card Magic by Peter Duffie, Constant Fooling 1 & 2 by David Regal, and Dear Mr. Fantasy by John Bannon. These are great books and I'm still learning the tricks in them. But I'm on the lookout for more of this type.

Can you recommend other books like these -- light on the complicated sleights, heavy on the mystery and subtlety?

Thanks!

-Dave
Steve V
View Profile
Inner circle
Northern California
1878 Posts

Profile of Steve V
Matinex, my neighbor, what do you mean by tricks that rely on 'sublteties' rather than sleights?
Steve V <---San Jose
matinex
View Profile
Regular user
San Jose, CA
108 Posts

Profile of matinex
Hi Steve,

Maybe that's the wrong word. I guess I'm just seeking books with tricks that require few sleights, such as the Nick Trost book. False counts, DLs, holding breaks, that kind of stuff is OK. But faro shuffles, palming, stuff like that is out of my reach right now.

Thanks for any suggestions

-David
Tom Dobrowolski
View Profile
Special user
656 Posts

Profile of Tom Dobrowolski
Any of the Aldo Colombini books, booklets, etc. fit the bill. Particularly "CardsDotCom", "Baroque Cards", "Card Trips" and "What's Up Deck".

Also much of the J.K. Hartmann material would qualify. His available books are "Trickery Treats" and "After Craft"
spycrapper
View Profile
Loyal user
Indonesia
295 Posts

Profile of spycrapper
Maybe steve beam's books?
Magic is life

Ario A.
visit my blog:
http://amagicblog.wordpress.com
D Byrd
View Profile
Loyal user
Virginia
229 Posts

Profile of D Byrd
Aldo's Simply Impromtu 2