The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » How Do I Deal With Myth & Magic Ethics? Help! » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
bropaul
View Profile
Loyal user
Florida
222 Posts

Profile of bropaul
Well here's a little to talk about. What would you all do?

I have been working this one weekend renaissance festival for the past 12 years in Fair Oaks, CA and a few years ago an amateur magician was watching my show and we talked a few times over the course of a few years. He wanted to get in the business, but not give up his day job. I told him just go for it and have some fun.

So he did. He wasn't strong enough by himself, so he got a partner and started a duo called Myth and Magic. We ended up working the Fair Oaks show together. After a year or two they invited me to watch their show because they were doing the balloon swallowing, which is my opener and has been for the past 12 or 13 years. I watched and they were using it for an opener too and using a great deal of my routine and bits of business.

I told them the routine is great, because I did a lot of the bits and told them it would be great if they worked up some original stuff for it, but the technique was good. I also told them since this is the only California show that I kept from my old west coast faire circuit that I would appreciate that they not do it in their show at the same show I'm doing. They agreed.

This year I checked with them to make sure we didn't have any duplicate effects in our shows and they agreed that we are not doing any of the same stuff. I do this every time there is more than one magician at a festival.

On Saturday afternoon, a couple of people said that the "other guys" are doing the same routine that I'm doing. I went to them and told them very nicely to knock it off and lets get through the weekend. They agreed... Again...