The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Getting started with no money (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
scooter magic
View Profile
New user
Fredricksburg, VA
73 Posts

Profile of scooter magic
I'm just getting started in magic. I don't know of any good books and videos other than bobo's and where I can get them for a good price. Any suggestions

smiles,Ashley
Ashley Taggert
moving up in the world of magic
wildarr
View Profile
New user
Isle of Palms, SC
80 Posts

Profile of wildarr
Try your local library to start. I'd bet you can find Henry Hay's The Amateur Magician's Handbook and Bill Tarr's Now You See it, Now Your Don't there, and they are both exellent books to start with. Also, at the library, you can see if you like the book and then think about purchasing your own copy.
Vandy Grift
View Profile
Inner circle
Milwaukee
3504 Posts

Profile of Vandy Grift
Read this site. Just read as much as you can. There is a ton of good advice and good recommendations. There is so much out there, and it's hard to make recommendations when we don't know what you enjoy learning/doing.

But this is the best place in the world to search through the posts and get great advice. You will find some common ground on what is universally accepted as excellent learning materials such as the Tarbell series, Stars of Magic and many many more. As well as dealers who have a good reputation for price and service. The more homework you do, the better spending choices you can make.

I would advise to use this resource and just read posts and use the search function to find additional info when something strikes your fancy.

Good luck and have fun!
"Get a life dude." -some guy in a magic forum
Mike T
View Profile
Loyal user
228 Posts

Profile of Mike T
The above post says it all! Smile

:hot coffee:
It's times like this I wish I'd listened to what my Grandad used to say...
Mike T