The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Dice Effects? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Bird Brain
View Profile
Regular user
161 Posts

Profile of Bird Brain
Hey Y'all!

I'm fairly new to magic, but very serious, and I noticed that I haven't seen a branch of magic devoted to dice. Is there one, and I'm just missing it? I'm interested in the effects that don't require gimmicks...

Are there any good books, vids or websites for me to check out?

Thanks so much!

Bird Brain

Smile
Yes I know my enemies
They're the teachers who taught me to fight me
Compromise, conformity, assimilation, submission
Ignorance, hypocrisy, brutality, the elite
All of which are American Dreams, All of which are American Dreams
Paul
View Profile
Inner circle
A good lecturer at your service!
4409 Posts

Profile of Paul
Apart from several marketed effects, dice effects in print generally revolve around showing the spots change on the sides or the beginners book favourite of piling them up and predicting the total of the hidden sides (based on knowledge which is becoming increasingly widely known).

Vernon has a good one in The Dai Vernon Book of Magic by Lewis Ganson available from Magic Books by Post based on the two in the hand one in the pocket scenario, nice ending though.

Other than that, people into dice generally look into dice stacking. It is certainly not a wide area like cards and coins. Perhaps you can develop it? Good luck.

Paul.
martinkaplan
View Profile
Special user
Los Angeles
562 Posts

Profile of martinkaplan
The Tarbell course lists a total of six dice effects and, given the fact that there are eight volumes in the course, it serves to reinforce what Paul had to say - There are not a heck of a lot of dice effects out there.

-Marty
Jeb Sherrill
View Profile
Inner circle
Elsewhere
1161 Posts

Profile of Jeb Sherrill