The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The December 2002 entrée: Banachek » » Mentalism teaching material » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MarkusC
View Profile
New user
Australia
14 Posts

Profile of MarkusC
Mr Banachek,

Well, as a complete beginner to mentalism, I thought I'd get myself some books. I've ordered:

13 Steps to Mentalism - Tony Corinda
Practical Mental Magic - Theodore Anneman
Full facts of Cold Reading Vol. 3 - Ian Rowland

While I'm waiting for them to arrive, how about giving us your top 5 books and top 5 videos for learning mentalism (feel free to include your own), as well as advice to beginners wanting to get a foothold in the field?

'Tis but a flesh wound.
Smile
Banachek
View Profile
V.I.P.
Houston
1086 Posts

Profile of Banachek
I would love to do this but there is so much material out there. I honestly do not have a top five. Most of my inspiration actually comes outside the mentalist world. Usually in books on psychics or skeptical materials.

If I get one effect from a book, to me that is a great book. If I get one effect from a book that inspires me, that is an incredible book.

The recent Berglas book is a book that inspires me.

I have a library of thousands of books on mentalism. Many of them hold gems. A few that come to mind are as follows:

James Auer, The Spirit Is Willing
The Newman Library "Collected mental secrets"
Henry Kaye The handbook of mental magic"
Bill Severn's Magic In Mind
Barrie Richardson's theater of the mind.

There, that is five, but not my favorites, just five that come to the top of my head as being exceptional, each in a different way.