The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Stage Illusions » » Appearance or Vanish - help! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

emyers99
View Profile
Inner circle
Columbus, Ohio
3965 Posts

Profile of emyers99
While I've been performing for over 20 years, my experience with illusions is limited to metamorposis, zig zag and a levitation. I'm consulting in a dance production and they would like to include a one person appearance or vanish (preferably without the need for an assistant). The budget is not great so we'll probably need to build whatever illusion we decide on.

Does anyone have a recommendation for effects/illusion plan books that may fit the bill. While we will have a stage, I cannot garauntee control of lighting or backdrops.

Unfortunately, I'm on a very tight schedule so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Eric
BtheDreamer
View Profile
Loyal user
246 Posts

Profile of BtheDreamer
Hmmm I’m a bit confused you need to make a person appear in a dance production with out the aid of an assistant. Does this mean offstage assistant because my first thought is you have a whole slew of dancers can't they help make the person appear?

If a dancer or two could help that would give you more options for sure but for now the most obvious to me is a flash appearance. That’s not too bad to build and transport and can be done in most any setting with no assistants.

Good luck

B
emyers99
View Profile
Inner circle
Columbus, Ohio
3965 Posts

Profile of emyers99
Thanks B. Yeah, I agree it would be easiest to have more dancers involved. This is during a portion of the show where they want the appearance/vanish to be the most effective. So they want as little clutter on stage as possible so that all attention is focused on the appearance/vanish.

I've found a few other threads that were helpful so I think I have some possibilities.
pradell
View Profile
Special user
Alaska
559 Posts

Profile of pradell