The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Busking as a first job? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

trombley
View Profile
New user
72 Posts

Profile of trombley
Hey all I was just wondering if you think busking would be a alright place to start for essentially my first magic job. I have done a couple paid walk around gigs but nothing too huge.

A little background on me. I have been doing magic for about 12 years as a hobby since I was a kid. Over the last 5 years or so I have really improved to what I feel is a professional level and did a few walk around gigs at small companies Christmas parties that went very well.

I am really interested in the crowd interaction you get from busking and feel like I would really enjoy it. I have books such as the art of krowd keeping and gazzo's cups and balls. I have also read a lot through this forum for ideas.

So I guess I am just looking for advice on if I should try busking or if I should stay with walkaround/restaurant style to build up some experience. (even though I know its nothing like the street)

Thanks

Matt
Noel M
View Profile
Loyal user
San Rafael. CA
208 Posts

Profile of Noel M
Yor are right that busking is not the same as walk around. But it seems you've put a lot of thought into it. Go out and try it a few times. I don't think you have anything to lose. It won't be the end of you walk around career.

Busking holds no appeal for me, but years and years ago I was a street musician at Fisherman's Wharf in SF. I thought it was a good idea, and I really did ok, but it was such a hassle getting to and from, being in the fog or sun all day etc so I gave it up. Another guy has been there over 25 years, something about it must appeal to him. You should give yourself the satisfaction of giving busking a try.
Danny Hustle
View Profile
Inner circle
Boston, MA USA
2393 Posts

Profile of Danny Hustle