The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » A tangled web we weave... » » My website (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

NJJ
View Profile
Inner circle
6439 Posts

Profile of NJJ
My website is GREAT!

I can say this because it gets me between 7-20 emails per week. Despite having no flash, no animations and nothing complicated or special, it is an excellent marketing tool. This is thanks largely to the advice of Andy Walker and others.

However, as a non web designer, I have the following problems:-

1) The pictures on the website are too big. I do not seem to be able to get them small enough! Can anyone suggest a program that will get them smaller enough? Even photoshop still leaves them quick large.

2) The fonts and table sizes change from browser to browser. On some computers, the user has to scroll sideways. (althought I have never seen this myself.)

3) I want to encourage people to CALL me rather then use the enquiry form or email. When I remove the form or email address, people simply don't contact me at all and I lose the booking. I need a way to encourage people to PICK UP THE PHONE!

Thanks in advance!
leapinglizards
View Profile
Inner circle
1263 Posts

Profile of leapinglizards
You are right, your site IS great!!! and yes, your image files ARE big.

Photoshop WILL make your pics smaller, the trick is- ya have to use it right.

There are two things that effect size of an image on the web.... Resolution and size... Ie- how many pixels.

For the web, pictures should be 72 DPI. Next, resize them to be as cloe to the size you want them to be on your site.

If you have layers or transparent backgrounds that will also increase files size.

You COULD use a preloader on your web site, so that once the home page loads it will start preloading the other images for your site.

Your site looks awesome though!

Jpegs will also be a bit smaller than Gifs, but there are other issues. to consider.