The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Don't call us, we'll call you (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

scaress
View Profile
Veteran user
salt lake city
337 Posts

Profile of scaress
I specialize in bizarre/shock shows. As you can imagine, it's not easy to get that kind of work in Salt Lake City UT. Thank god for the night job!
In fact I’ve never met any professional magician here who doesn't do kid shows.

But when I do get something going, I hear this lot... "Oh, we'd love to have you perform! We'll call you." Then nothing. When I call them it seems to fall through for a one reason or another.
I am still an amateur, not for lack of trying, but is this sort of thing common?
Is there something that I’m doing wrong to make people change their minds, or do I just need to be more aggressive?
Or should I just caulk it all up to my hard-to-market product?

Any (constructive) advice is appreciated.
icentertainment
View Profile
Inner circle
1429 Posts

Profile of icentertainment
Hmmmm constructive---I'm not really known for this- but I'll give it a go.

right when they say- we'd love to have you perform- Ask a question to qualify them even more such as

when is the event?
what type of event do you have in mind?

now the web site you have linked to your profile- I hope you don't send anyone to this to sell your magic.

I liked it until the flash intro stopped.

I find that even tho people have seen me perform- they still want an info pack including a DVD and testimonials and business card.- they also want to check out my web site.

I believe in order to sell effectively you must have something to send to the client.- CD-roms and now DVD's are cheap and easy to make- worst case senario (bad spelling) have a couple of Mpeg 1 videos on a cd with some friwends talking about how good you are and how your entertainment made the event a success- whether it be a Adult birthday party, or whatever