The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How big can an audience be when you are doing card magic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TrevK
View Profile
New user
Fareham, England
8 Posts

Profile of TrevK
Hi folks,

although I am not really a beginner, I would like some advice as to how large a group I could do card magic (Non-jumbo) to? I am thinking of doing some tricks to about 20-25 workmates at christmas. (actualy fellow uni lecturers) It's a sort of talent show of mixed performers. Any advice out there please?

Trevor.
"Last night I dreamed I ate a ten-pound marshmallow, and when I woke up the pillow was gone." Tommy Cooper
Robert Apodaca
View Profile
Special user
504 Posts

Profile of Robert Apodaca
As long as it's not a large auditorium everyone should be able to see and understand the magic. 20-25 people should be no problem.
Jaxon
View Profile
Inner circle
Kalamazoo, Mi.
2537 Posts

Profile of Jaxon
I agree. That size audience shouldn't be a problem.

It also depends on what kind of card tricks you'll be performing. I'm mostly talking about a larger crowd such as in an auditorium. I've performed card tricks on stage in front of a few hundred people using a normal sized deck. As have many others. Mac King comes to mind with his traveling cards routine. Mike Finney does a card on forehead for large audiences.

Some tricks wouldn't be good with a small deck such as an ambitious card where they won't see the effect from a distance but many other tricks can still be done. BUt for 20 - 25 people. Even for 50 people. I don't think you'll have any problem unless they are sitting far away and I doubt you'd want that.

Have fun with your show.

Ron Jaxon