The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Rope Escape (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Scott O.
View Profile
Inner circle
Midwest
1141 Posts

Profile of Scott O.
Ok, I have a desire to add a simple rope escape to my shows. I'm not an escape artist, but this would work well with a message I want to present. The rope tie I am thinking of starts with the performer seated in a chair. The rope is brought under his legs and then tied on top of the legs. The performer places his wrists together and on top of the knot for the legs. Then a spectator ties several knots to secure the performers hands and legs firmly together.

Question. No, not how is it done. But what source might I go to to find such a rope escape.

Thanks
Scott Smile.
Do not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time you will reap a harvest, if you do not give up. Galatians 6:9
Scott O.
View Profile
Inner circle
Midwest
1141 Posts

Profile of Scott O.
Never mind. I've playing around with this a bit and figured out a method for accomplishing what I want to do. I suprised myself, this is a very good looking escape. Simple but effective.

Scott Smile.
Do not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time you will reap a harvest, if you do not give up. Galatians 6:9
Ed Garcia
View Profile
New user
Lindenhurst, IL
35 Posts

Profile of Ed Garcia
It's funny, I've performed this before and I was curious if anyone out there could educate me on what it's specifically called? Perhaps who created this escape?
Harley Newman
View Profile
Inner circle
5110 Posts

Profile of Harley Newman
It's mentioned in a number of books, though I don't offhand recall which ones.

I believe it came out of the seance tradition, which means it would've originally been done as a spirit tie. The goal would have been to be tied at the beginning, and untied at the end.