The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hi, I'm New » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

rparmacek
View Profile
New user
Highland Park, IL. USA
18 Posts

Profile of rparmacek
My name is Bob Parmacek and I am new to the Magic Cafe, but I am pretty old when it comes to being on this planet, and interested in Magic and Magick.

I have been interested in Magic for over sixty years. I grew up in Chicago and haunted the shops of Berland, Irelands, and Abbotts in the ninteen forties and fifties.

At that time I was really into sleight of hand and had some great (I thought they were great) billard ball routines and card production routines.

I took lessons from Sam Berland and a gentleman by the name of Sam Berman who did a wonderful pantomine tramp act. I did gigs at kids birthdays, hospitals, club dates and in college at fraternity parties.

I spent four years in the Navy (Korean War) aboard a large aircraft Carrier (the USS Hancock CVA-19) and spent long months at sea practicing and constantly bothering some of my 3000 shipmates to watch another trick.

I left the Navy and had with me a wife and two children (another to come) and decided that earning a living had priority over doing Magic, at which I was not talented or motivated enough to do full time.

I spent the next forty-six years building a plastic manufacturing business in Food Service and Giftware and sold it to a large public corporation in 1991 and stayed with them for seven years.

I retired in 1999 and got back to my first love Magic and my best love my grandchildren and have been active in I.B.M and S.A.M. ever since.

I do less fingerflicking than I used to but am more into entertaining the audience rather than doing tricks. At this time in my life I cannot envision what it would be like without Magic and the wonderful people like you that make up the art.

Talk to you soon,
Bob
Mya Angel
View Profile