The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Basic mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
kroberge
View Profile
New user
Old Town, Maine
75 Posts

Profile of kroberge
I'm new to magic. I've been at it for about four months and have been playing with this and that, mostly cards and coins. I've recently developed a curiosity towards mentalism. I haven't come across any beginner mentalist tricks unless we can count divining the chosen card as such. I was wondering if there are any basic mentalist tricks or does that material require more maturity than a beginner has?

I'd appreciate your thoughts,

Kevin
royaltmagic
View Profile
New user
Kintuckee
61 Posts

Profile of royaltmagic
Hey Kevin,

It might be best to get a better understanding of magic first, before getting into mentalism. Maybe get to know the psychological aspect of magic. Study the history a bit even. Then when you think you're ready...don't go buying effects, or "tricks", but rather purchase some books on the subject that will have several, if not hundreds of different effects. Books are the way to go...whether it's magic or mentalism. You get more for your money.

Hope this helps.

-Travis
"Beeble beeble beeble. Blah blah blah."

- Sum Wan

http://www.royaltmagic.com
Magiguy
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
5472 Posts

Profile of Magiguy
Along those lines, you would do well to study Annemann's "Practical Mental Effects," and Corinda's "13 Steps to Mentalism." Not only will they provide you will a terrific amount of practical material, but also, proper study will ground you in the rudimentary knowledge you seek to explore.

Best of luck!
rorythegreat
View Profile
Veteran user
Seattle, WA
393 Posts

Profile of rorythegreat
Hi Kevin,
Jay Sankey also has a great DVD called 22 Blows To The Head. It's a great DVD with many nice effects which are not hard to learn!
abc
View Profile
Inner circle