The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Help needed for new escape artist (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Acextreme
View Profile
New user
33 Posts

Profile of Acextreme
Hello, I want to start performing in the exciting arena of escapology. However, I am also a total noob in this department. I am willing to put in whatever is necessary but I need some help.

First, how would you advise me on where to begin? Naturally, I am interested in straits-jacket escapes as that's kind of the de-facto standard to be in any escapologist's repertoire. I got myself the Dixie Dooley's DVD on Escapology and had gone through it. I think the 100-feet rope challenge is good too, so is some other classics that he taught within. But somehow I feel that he's not concise enough when dealing with the straits-jacket & hand-cuffs section as well as many other escapes. Is there any better resources and materials somewhere else that I ought to look into? Please recommend...

Second, I intend to put together a 30-60 minutes escapology act but need help in finding exciting and impressive escape routines. Some of the items I thought are interesting are the 100-feet rope challenge, Siberian-chain escape, Houdini Rope Tie, Spirit Rope Tie, straits-jacket escape, etc. If you noticed, since the only material I had on the fine art of escapology is the Dixie Dooley's DVDs, thus all of what I know came from that. And because I have a very limited knowledge, I need help in selecting escape routines. I did my research on this subject on the internet but was lost in the process but all the various variations of straits-jackets and the likes. If you can help in any way like letting me know what kind of escapes routines are out there on the market, or what materials/resources I should read, please kindly point me to that. I will take all effort to learn this art.