We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Straight Jacket Variations (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mike_york
View Profile
Loyal user
228 Posts

Profile of mike_york
I was wondering, what are some of the variations to a straight jacket that you have seen?

I know of Houdini's, DC with burning ropes and spikes, and some guy hung upside down from a helicopter in air.

Where might I find a resource of inspectable gimmicked straight jackets? Oh, they must allow for a VERY FAST escape!

Ok, I am going to cave in here. I have been working for the past 3-12 months on my SJ escape. Many of you will probably think I am crazy. But, publicity is publicity. I can already read the headlines and reviews now.

What I am going to do is, SKYDIVE while wearing a straight jacket.

I have been jumping and training with some experts in the field.

The freefall is less than 60 sec. Then you have to pull your rip cord to open your Canopy in order to land safely.

So I have less than 60 sec. to free myself from the jacket. That’s why I am going to go with a gimmicked one.

Let me know what you think,
Mike
SANTINI
View Profile
Loyal user
SANTINI
293 Posts

Profile of SANTINI
Hi Mike,
Sounds like a cool idea but it's already been done by a number of people. One who comes to mind was Dean Gunnarson. Others have also leapt from planes secured with restraints, myself included. I've got a much more original idea for you involving a straight jacket publicity stunt I once did and you may want to do. It really rocks! It is an original creation and concept but if you e-mail me privately, I will explain it for you. Regards, Steve Santini odditorium1@shaw.ca
mike_york
View Profile
Loyal user
228 Posts

Profile of mike_york
Oh Man, IT'S BEEN DONE! I sent you an email.

Mike
Kevin Ridgeway
View Profile
V.I.P.
Indianapolis, IN & Phoenix, AZ
1824 Posts

Profile of Kevin Ridgeway