The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Patter (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
KyleThorson
View Profile
New user
Raleigh, NC
98 Posts

Profile of KyleThorson
I am just beginning and I am having trouble coming up with patter for the tricks I am learning... I don't want to copy the exact patter from the DVD's, but that's probably my only option at the moment. Does anyone just use the same patter or do you always make up something new?

Kyle
kroberge
View Profile
New user
Old Town, Maine
75 Posts

Profile of kroberge
I know what you mean Kyle. Fortunately, I think I have an answer. It will involve an anecdote though.

I went to my first magic meeting last Sunday (Ring 362) and saw lots of magic there. One routine caught my attention and caused this recent revelation about patter. The routine was rope magic and I knew most of the tricks. They were executed nicely but that's not what captivated me. This fellow was talking about bullying and using rope magic to illustrate points about bullying. It is the best patter I have ever heard probably because it was all true and very poignant. It fit his personality and it was something that he actually performed for kids when talking about this subject, bullying.

I went away from that meeting realizing what so many magicians have said on this forum. Presentation is key. You certainly have to be technically proficient, but the trick should have context, meaning and those should fit you. Of course, you don't need a lot of patter if you're going to spontaneously levitate two feet off the ground. But I honestly enjoyed this rope magic performance more because of the context.