The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricks & Effects » » Final Answer v Bet Your Bucks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
Potty the Pirate
View Profile
Inner circle
4620 Posts

Profile of Potty the Pirate
I've been using Scott Alexander's "The Final Answer" for a few years now, and I just bought Cody Fisher's "Bet Your Bucks". Here is my comparitive review:
Both routines allow the performer to load a signed bill into a lemon right in front of the audience. I find TFA is more elegant, though a fair bit more ballsy. The FA gimmick is much more compact, but it requires quite a bit of practise to get it right. Essentially you have to learn one fairly simple sleight. BYB is sleight-free, and the loading is SUPER FAST! Still, FA also loads in mere seconds, overall I'd say BYB is a bit easier for loading.
Once loaded, FA is all over, you're now free to enjoy performing your routine. BYB still requires an additional "move". This is very easy, and sleight-free, but it is problematic, as this move tends to talk. I spent two days designing a gimmick to reduce the talking, and eventually came up with a virtually silent method here. I was rather disappointed at the loud noise on Cody's DVD, which could only be covered by loud laughter from the audience.
In FA you give the lemon to your helper BEFORE you take their money, you must show the lemon at this point, in the version provided.
In BYB you give the lemon to them AFTER you take their money. You don't have to show the lemon if you don't want to, it can be in a nest of boxes, or anywhere.
With FA the lemon can't be examined too thoroughly, though in my opinion, this is no problem, as long as the performer displays the lemon, the spectator who is helping can have a good long look and will see nothing. The spectator can cut the lemon open.
With BYB the lemon can be examined fairly thoroughly and cut open by the spectator.