The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Pardon me, sir... » » Watch steals from the audience (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

tomter
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of tomter
I am new to pickpocketing and in fact don't particularly want to do it. However I do want to perfect a watch steal but not as part of a close up magic trick. I want to do it from the stage. I intend to go into the audience and hold a spectator by the wrist with my left hand and his upper arm with my right hand and guide him to the stage stealing his watch as I do so. I have seen one particularly skilled performer do this.
I must emphasise that I have no intention of stealing the watch once the person has arrived on stage. I want to do it before they arrive there.

My question is this. I know that I can do this with a leather strap on the watch and believe I would have no problem with it. However I am wondering about other types of straps and bands. Can they be taken as easily as the leather straps by using this method of grabbing the spectator's wrist and guidng them to the stage or can it only be done as part of a close up trick which gives you the time to do the dirty work?
James Harrison
View Profile
Special user
Ontario, Canada
762 Posts

Profile of James Harrison
Chappy Brazil's dvd explains how to take any kind of watch, but only during the trick.

There are methods of taking a leather band watch and an expandable elastic watch on Mark Raffles dvd. If you watch Chappy's dvd, you can also figure out how to take a flip tab watch as well.

Now unless someone has figured out a way and not let the rest of the magic community in on it, these are the only ones that are in print or on video for taking while leading the spectator up.

But if you don't want to do it, then why bother? If you have a bad taste in your mouth about it, remove it from the act.
Rupert Bair
View Profile
Inner circle
?
2113 Posts