The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » What happened, was this... » » A story from a small-fry (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

pghdude80
View Profile
New user
Pittsburgh
72 Posts

Profile of pghdude80
I am, by almost any standard, a pre-schooler in the world of magic. Truth be told, I doubt seriously that I'll ever graduate from middle school. My books, gimmicks, dvds, coins, and card decks barely fill my small desk drawer.

I didn't get into magic to make money, or to go on the road with my act. I'm not saying that there is anything wrong with that (believe me I try to support working magicians as much as possible)...it's just not what I do.
My tricks are, for the most part, very old and very simple. I'm not good at sleight of hand, and I still have a hard time spotting it when I see it.

Normally I only perform tricks for my friends when they stop over on the weekend for a few drinks and movie. I like to watch their faces as I make something vanish, or their card appear in a place that they did not expect.
Yesterday was a rare day for me. I had just finished a very long day at work, and I thought about going to a local pub to relax. I don't know what gave me the itch, but I stopped off at my place to pick up a few tricks.

I'm a regular at this pub (those of you who are married with children are allowed to shed a solitary tear at this point), and the guys and gals at the pub know me well. What they didn't know was that magic was one of my hobbies. Low and behold, someone was playing the oft discussed David Blaine street magic DVD. "The stars must be in a favorable alignment," I thought, as I was, like many, sucked back into magic by learning some of his more basic (yet famous) tricks.