The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Are card tricks necessary? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ClodAppleleft
View Profile
Regular user
Manchester, NH
195 Posts

Profile of ClodAppleleft
I have a bunch of close up tricks that I am planning on using for table hopping. The thing is, I keep seeing that people do a lot of card tricks. I have always been very bad at card tricks, and I also play poker periodically with friends of mine, and we won't let another friend in because we know he can do awesome card tricks. So my question is it necessary or at least recommended that I have a couple of card tricks in my arsenal, even though I'm not really good at them?
There are many different ways to cut an apple.
Scott F. Guinn
View Profile
Inner circle
"Great Scott!" aka "Palms of Putty" & "Poof Daddy G"
6586 Posts

Profile of Scott F. Guinn
You should never do anything that you're not really good at, and there is no law that says you have to do card tricks. The reason they are used by a lot of magicians is because you can do so many effects with a pack of cards that takes up almost no space in your pockets. However, they are certainly not required to be a restaurant magician. Just make sure that you ARE really good with the rest of your material!
"Love God, laugh more, spend more time with the ones you love, play with children, do good to those in need, and eat more ice cream. There is more to life than magic tricks." - Scott F. Guinn
My Lybrary Page
KingStardog
View Profile
Inner circle
2134 Posts

Profile of KingStardog
A large percentage of specs are turned off by card tricks. Once they are tuned out, its very difficult to get them back. I will how ever push a couple, for filler. Like Scott said, do whats right for you. Coins lose alot of folks too. Bills on the other hand pick up interest from surrounding people. Go figure?