The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Abbot's Encylopedia of Rope Tricks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

tedski
View Profile
Special user
New Jersey
792 Posts

Profile of tedski
Okay guys,

I am very new to ropes. What do you think about this book? What routines would you recommend from it? What would you stay away from? How would use the book to learn from (if at all)?

Thanks for the input. Smile
Geoff Ray
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of Geoff Ray
I have this book and I think it is very good. It has a very large section on C+R ropes and a good misc. section. But to me the best bit is the last chapter - the Hindu rope trick. A very good book and worth getting.
Budihaha
View Profile
Veteran user
Bandung - Indonesia
328 Posts

Profile of Budihaha
I have it too and yes, it is good.
I use one of the C&R method and also Ring & Rope Release. I'm still looking other tricks to use from this book.

Regards,
Budi H. Hadiwarsito
Bandung - Indonesia
www.budihaha.com
Gerald
View Profile
Veteran user
Arkansas
325 Posts

Profile of Gerald
Good book - full of great ideas. You might want to check out vol. 2 of "Abbott's Encyclopedia of Rope Tricks" also. I don't know if there is a Dover paper back version of vol. 2. Both were compiled by Stewart James. H&R Books might help you to locate vol. 2. http://www.magicbookshop.com/

Regards,
Gerald
Geoff Ray
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of Geoff Ray
In reply to what Budihaha said I use 2 C+R rope tricks. I use the Tarbell Rope Trick in my stage act - method B (and of course A) and I use the "Chow Coon" rope trick in my parlour act. It is a very good book.
blindbo
View Profile
Special user
Bucks County, PA
790 Posts

Profile of blindbo
If not for anything else in this great book, learn the one-handed throw knot. My 21 year old son is still baffled over how I can throw a rope in the air and have it land knotted.