The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The International Brotherhood of Magicians! » » Laymen at Meetings (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Robert Apodaca
View Profile
Special user
504 Posts

Profile of Robert Apodaca
Hello, I am new to the IBM, but the three meetings I've been to there have been laymen there.

Laypeople we're even there for "Show and Tell" night. Isn't this exposure? Why do people bring lay guests to a magician meeting?

And what do you guys usually do at your meetings? I thought there would be a lot more performing and getting feedback on effects, there is really no such thing.
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3716 Posts

Profile of mrunge
Quote:
On 2007-07-22 18:54, Robert Apodaca wrote:
...I thought there would be a lot more performing and getting feedback on effects, there is really no such thing.

It could be because there were laypeople there. This tends to put a damper on things at meetings.

Mark.
Kipp Sherry
View Profile
Elite user
Boise, ID
477 Posts

Profile of Kipp Sherry
Robert,

At Ring 364, a first timer must show us a trick to be admitted. We don't want to open the doors to lay people, but we do want to be able to open the doors to those who show a beginning interest. We do have two exceptions that allow lay people to attend the meetings.

1) If a child wants to join the club, we invite the parents stay and watch the first meeting just so they are comfortable with what their child is getting into. That is only allowed once. (Exposure is allowed in these meetings.)

2) If we have an open meeting like a picnic, Christmas party, etc. where family, friends, and the general public is invited. (Exposure is not allowed in these meetings.)

Until we appear again,
Kipp Sherry
What is Kings Fool?
The only business card you'll ever need!
http://www.kippsherrymagic.info
Patriot
View Profile
Regular user
112 Posts

Profile of Patriot
Quote: