We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Looking for a mathematical stack (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

gdw
View Profile
Inner circle
4816 Posts

Profile of gdw
Hi, I am new to stack work, and I am trying to find, or develop, a stack where by each card's location can be determined via the same formula.

I know that there is a stack where each card is a simple equation based on the preceding card, but this only works for knowing which card follows which, and not for the specific location of each individual card.

I know that Si Stebbins allows for each card's location to be calculated after a glimpse of the bottom card, but that is not quite what I am looking for.

I would like to be able to take a single formula that allows me to take any card, and using it's value and suit, calculate its position in the stack, then of course shift it based on the bottom card, if the deck has been cut, thus displacing the stack's start and end points.

Obviously I am looking for a mathematical out to actually memorizing a deck. Remembering one equation is easier than a whole deck, lol.

I just made a thread regarding the possibility of this within a 4 or 5 out faro stack, but discovered with some research and math work that the calculations can get a bit too complicated. If anyone is interested in what I came up with, see here;

http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......tart=0#2

Keep in mind, all the math work ended up being for a FOUR faro stack, and NOT the originally proposed 5 faro stack.

Thanks
Glenn

Thanks, Glenn
It's amazing, people will criticize you for "biting the hand that feeds you," while they're busy praising the hand that beats them.

"You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one."

I won't forget you Robert.
gdw
View Profile
Inner circle
4816 Posts

Profile of gdw