The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magician in the making.. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

vaskl
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of vaskl
I recently started practicing magic. I have been interested in it most of my life but never knew anyone who could teach me..guess I finally decided to go the road alone.
well I now have MWCCIM and Royal road to card magic books, 3 decks of bikes and a Bike ID.
I cannot put thr RRTCM book down. I love it.
Question though, there are some tricks I know of that I would love to do, But am looking for them in a book.. I cant justify spending 10-12$$ on a trick while I am still so young to the art with so much to learn.
I would like a book that teaches the jack in the box trick, a good card restore that doesn't leave a piece ripped off, and maybe the trick stigmata was derived from...

I think I am asking too much haha!
Chris in Oklahoma City
solrak29
View Profile
Special user
NY Metro
936 Posts

Profile of solrak29
I think the resources (i.e. MWCCIM and Royal Road) are great place to start.

Especially if your diligent enough to work through them and practice. Alot
of us don't have that patience. I think you will learn a lot more through those
books than a 10-12 $$$ download.

I think you can develop a professional close up act with just what you have alone.

Does anyone agree or disagree?
To Find Me On The Pitch, Follow me :On Twitter
Checkout my pseudo blog : The Sidewalk Performers Forum

"I intend to live forever, or die trying" - Groucho Marx
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3717 Posts

Profile of mrunge
I agree. Those 2 book alone are a goldmine of information.

My suggestion? Take your time to read and study what you have. Work on an effect or two. Get those down and keep adding to your "bag of tricks."