The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advice for my first big performance? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicKev
View Profile
New user
72 Posts

Profile of MagicKev
I'll be performing a 45 minute comedy/magic act during the awards dinner at my company's annual client conference in two weeks. There will be 750 people attending the event. I'm not a professional magician, but I've had some experience performing in front of previous large audiences (up to 120 people), but never this large.

Because I work for one of the largest online marketing companies in the country, there will be lots of industry bloggers/writers in attendance. Needless to say, I'm somewhat nervous, but even more excited.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks!
Stanyon
View Profile
Inner circle
Landrum, S.C. by way of Chicago
3402 Posts

Profile of Stanyon
Start drinking heavily!

But seriously, if you know your material cold just try to relax and enjoy yourself.

Cheers! (Break a leg!)
Stanyon

aka Steve Taylor

"Every move a move!"

"If you've enjoyed my performance half as much as I've enjoyed performing for you, then you've enjoyed it twice as much as me!"
Andy the cardician
View Profile
Inner circle
A street named after my dad
3370 Posts

Profile of Andy the cardician
First of all - congrats for getting such a nice opportunity - so enjoy it, no matter what you do.

As you have a very large audience, you need some very visual tricks that play big. Torn and restored newspaper, silk production etc.

Will there be a screen for the audience?

Andy
Cards never lie
Ace of $pades
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of Ace of $pades
Do you have a lot of money? What about an assistant? If so... DO METAMORPHOSIS. Escapes are great for large audiences.
wardini
View Profile
Regular user
105 Posts

Profile of wardini
I'm panicking for you already.