The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » What do you say to... what do you do? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

James_Lee
View Profile
New user
Ohio
33 Posts

Profile of James_Lee
I wasn't sure where to post this, so forgive me if this is in the wrong section.

I've noticed with the last few calls I have received, typically for kids birthday parties, that after I explain that we do a fun, very interactive kids magic show, the people ask... Well what do you do? I then tell them we get the kids on stage with us to do magic, we make them the magician, in certain cases, and they assist a lot. They then ask again, what do you do? Am I missing the question... I have been doing kids shows for 10 years and only recently has this question ever come up. What do you say, what would you say? Thanks in advance

James Lee
Eldon
View Profile
Inner circle
Virden, IL
1134 Posts

Profile of Eldon
They actually want to know what tricks you are going to perform. Like if you told them they would know what you were talking about. I get this question from time to time and I'm not sure I have the answer. I would be interested in hearing what other would do.
sethb
View Profile
Inner circle
The Jersey Shore
2700 Posts

Profile of sethb
Although I don't do kid's shows, I do pitch Svengali Decks and pocket magic at street festivals, municipal fairs and so forth -- and my primary buyers are children.

I have also gotten this question, and have decided that it is actually a safety question. These folks have seen David Blaine on TV doing all sorts of crazy and dangerous things, or Copperfield and Burton using flash paper, fire pots and more on stage. That's their frame of reference.

So I simply explain that I sell small magic tricks with playing cards, coins, balls and handkerchiefs --- no knives, nothing sharp, no fire, nothing dangerous. That seems to satisfy them and be a sufficient explanation.