The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » How much is too Little for a fee!!! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Brent McLeod
View Profile
Inner circle
New Zealand
1656 Posts

Profile of Brent McLeod
Greetings-Question-

As a working Professional I deliver a quality show from 12mins-45mins plus in many different theatres, Niteclubs & corporate functions-always working around the client to make the event a success .

I charge appropriate fees-never had a problem

Got a call today from elderly establishment Xmas event that needed up to an hr show-I quote a price at 25 percent of a normal half hour show I quote-in other words around $200-really cheap for me -no Illusions or anything but I wanted to help & anything less is an insult or so I thought with travel & set up.

The budget they had was around $140 , the caller was I think quite shocked at my price & I enquired as to what they expect an entertainer to provide for that sort of money-also pointing out that childrens birthday entertainers charge more!!-Which I don't perform!

She was quite upset that I even queried her budget-I eventually said no thanks not interested but wondered who she actually gets-she mentioned music trios etc & I thought who would perform for $45 if theres 3 of you!!

Was I right or wrong!!-This bothered me today-I know my act & Professionalism is surley worth more but how low should we go!!!

Appreciate any similar experiences or advice

Thanks

-Brent
magic4u02
View Profile
Eternal Order
Philadelphia, PA
15111 Posts

Profile of magic4u02
Hi Brent:

I think the problem is one of the prospect 1) having a very low perceived value of you and what you can provide to them and 2) possibly never booked a magician before so they have no idea what the going rate is for something like that.