The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Anyone here play electric guitar? Got any tips? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

NeoMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
I have...
2017 Posts

Profile of NeoMagic
Hi all... I'm having a go at learning to play the guitar. I picked up a cheap PRS-style electric guitar with amp etc. a few days back in the hope of learning some slow blues, perhaps jazz blues, and licks.

I'm learning scales right now... the A minor pentatonic scale and the Blues version (this one) and the extended A minor pentatonic (this one)

Any tips for a complete newbie are appreciated. Thanks.
See and download my latest free card-suits-themed desktop wallpaper | HERE
Ray_Mago
View Profile
New user
Rio Rancho
82 Posts

Profile of Ray_Mago
So are you just learning and starting out? well you are in luck, I used to play in my schools jazz band.

what you are gonna need to start out basic stuff is: 1. Essential Elements for jazz ensemble: Guitar
2. the fender chord finder (you could have any chord finder but this one is so convienent, you will thank me later)
3. The chord wheel (that is if you want to start writing)
4. The big gag book of scales for all guitarists (it seems like you already have a scale book, but this one is really good.)

just know that just learning to play guitar takes a while... I was the main soloist in my jazz band, and not only does it take knowing the scales, but it also takes guts to stand in front of the crowd and not freeze up your fingers, it has to sound like you applied a tub of butter to your fingers before hand.(lol, hopefully you get what that means... smooooth)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z54uEVSgFv8