The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The International Brotherhood of Magicians! » » Blake Douglass in The feb. issue of TLR (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Blake Douglass
View Profile
Regular user
106 Posts

Profile of Blake Douglass
Hello all, wow I cant believe I have been browsing these forums for four years and just now joined. I can remember countless topics I would be dying to comment on but couldn't seeing as I wasnt a member. Well now I am here, and while I am here I would like to announce that I will be featured in the feb. issue of TLR. Dakota Rose wrote the artcile, and if my memory serves me correctly it is featured under "Millinials Rising." I hope you all take the time to read it, and get back to me with your thought. You can expect to hear a lot from me now that I am an active member of this board. I hope I can help all of you as much as this board has helped me. Till next time. Bye all.
robwar0100
View Profile
Inner circle
Buy me some newspapers.Purchase for me 1 Gazette and
1747 Posts

Profile of robwar0100
Blake,

I read your write-up in The Linking Ring, and let me say congratulations!

As I read the piece, it reminded me of where I was in my magical development when I was your age (a long time ago). I, too, believed it was all sleights all the time. Nothing else would do.

However, I have changed over the years and do not care if I use sleight or a gimmicked prop, I want to create a sense of awe and wonder with the audience.

I had the privilege of speaking with Ken de Courcy a few years ago. Ken is in his 80s, and I believe he still performs from time to time. When I asked for his opinion about sleights vs. gimmicks, his reply was that sleight of hand was a gimmick you did not have to get rid of.