The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Recommendations for a magic kit for a beginner? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

HenryH
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of HenryH
Hi guys,
I am just getting started with magic and would like to purchase an all-encompassing magic kit that includes the classic, stand-by magic tricks. What would you recommend? I don't want to spend too much money, but I also don't want some elementary play-kit with photos of kids on the box (LOL).
Hoppini, the Mediocre
View Profile
New user
Canada
41 Posts

Profile of Hoppini, the Mediocre
Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic (20 bucks or less)
50 foot hank of Magician's Rope (10 bucks)
4 Sponge Balls (5 bucks)
Couple decks of Bicycle cards (5 Bucks)
Seven 50 cent pieces (3.50)
One Thumbtip (3 bucks)
Silk Hankie (3 bucks)
Tinfoil balls and 3 plastic cups from the dollar store.

A years worth of learning for slightly less than 50 bucks.
EndersGame
View Profile
Inner circle
Reviewer EndersGame
2198 Posts

Profile of EndersGame
One thing that you can't purchase is showmanship and presentation. Read the good advice here and here. Something like Mark Wilson's Complete Course or David Pogue's Magic for Dummies might be a good place to start. Also, see these book recommendations. Hoppini's suggestions are good ones. You can get tremendous mileage of the classic effects with some coins, decks of playing cards, sponge balls, thumb tip, silk handkerchiefs, and cups and balls.
jolly12
View Profile
New user
PEI, Canada
48 Posts

Profile of jolly12
I purchased Mark Wilson's CCinM over 8 months ago, have read it cover to cover once, and have re-read the pages I liked countless times. Well worth the cost!
Hoppini, the Mediocre
View Profile
New user
Canada
41 Posts

Quote:
On 2008-03-03 16:54, jolly12 wrote: