The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Tip over vanish - harmful to doves? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicodine
View Profile
Regular user
italy
198 Posts

Profile of magicodine
Hi guys,
I'm new to dove magic so I want to be sure I'm not harming my doves. I'm reading books and watching dvds but I find it a bit hard to understand what I can and what I cannot do with a dove and in which position it can stay. I was given a tip over vanish box, but I wonder if it's painful for the birds because the panel where they are hidden will turn 180 degrees. Same is for the vanishing box, when you remove the lid with the dove hidden inside I must turn it 180 degrees in order for the public not to see the hidden load.
Is it Ok for doves to go through this?
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
5019 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
Magicodine, if you do the tip over vanish correctly, the panel with the doves does not spin around. The hinges on the top of the box should be toward the rear. As you turn the box forward, the top simply drops and hangs in the front. It actually only rotates 45 degrees which isn't a problem. I'm not familiar with what you are calling the vanishing box unless you mean a tear apart type of box. If that is what you have, then when you lift the lid you can either turn it diagonally which really only tips the load a little (but it does take a lot of practice to get the turn right so the audience doesn't see it) or you can hand the pieces to an assistant or stack them on stand or table hiding the load.

Hope that helps.
Where the magic begins
Hansel
View Profile
Inner circle
Puerto Rico
2492 Posts

Profile of Hansel